And Ringo Was His Name-O

My Husband’s Story of the Special Guest on our Wedding Day

We had just arrived in Italy for our wedding. We had finally managed to plow through all of the complicated paperwork needed to get married in a foreign country, so now just wanted to relax and enjoy our time there. We imagined a week of unequaled bliss.

I had been dreaming a lot about dogs lately. The dreams were jumbled, so there wasn’t much clarity to them. However, the lyrics to a children’s song would remain on my mind afterwards. “There was a farmer, who had a dog, and Bingo was his name-o. B-I-N-G-O B-I-N-G-O B-I-N-G-O And Bingo was his name-o.” The dreams were perplexing, leaving me wondering what they meant. But I had a wedding to think about, so didn’t worry too much about my weird dreams at the time.

My fiancée and I had also been discussing the adoption of a dog from our local animal shelter, but had put the plans on hold until we plowed through our matrimonial paperwork. That would explain the convoluted dog dreams I was having. We planned to resume doggie discussions when we returned home after our honeymoon.

Coincidentally, at the same time, there was a scruffy looking little terrier that was hanging around the hotel parking lot, watching our every move as we unloaded the luggage from our rental car. We had a few…

--

--

Donna L Roberts, PhD (Psych Pstuff)

Writer and university professor researching the human condition, generational studies, human and animal rights, and the intersection of art and psychology